What’s Medium for?

And where do I write?

Adesh Acharya
3 min readOct 26, 2023

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

The leaves are yellow on that tree but if I turn my head around I will see trees with red and yellow leaves. It is fall in Canada and it makes up for some interesting poetry — but who has the motivation to write and read poetry?

I want to write something people will read. If I write what no one reads, that wouldn’t be writing, it would be thinking. But I want to do more than just think.

To remember what Medium said a few months ago as they started a new initiative, I noted their words on a paper and stuck it on my wall. Here are some key points:

  • Medium wants to be an open platform where everyone can read and write stories in a beautiful, ad-free interface.
  • Medium will reward stories they feel most proud to bring to their members.
  • Medium wants human stories that deliver actual human wisdom.
  • Medium wants to provide alternative to the opportunities people get on the rest of the internet.
  • Medium wants us to tell our story rather than churn out content.
  • Medium wants us to take time to go deeper, research longer, edit more as they will distribute those content.
  • Medium wants ‘original, high quality, personal stories, hidden life wisdom, deep knowledge…

--

--