Live A Profound And Colorful Life

The Process Begins With A Question

Adesh Acharya
5 min readDec 20, 2022

--

Photo by Ryan Loughlin on Unsplash

How am I feeling right now?

It should always start with this question. It should always be about this question.

But how do we track things as elusive and vague as our feelings?

Why do I keep coming back to these questions whenever I feel prominently about something? More important than that, Why are these questions even relevant when I can tune into any form of entertainment available in abundance and forget about my feelings (wash them) and shut my thoughts?

I don’t think I can get into the first, second and third questions without answering the fourth.

Yes, I have used sports, games, music, movies, TV shows, novels, friends, cigarettes, coffees, teas, alcohols — I have used them all in plenty throughout my life. I have used them all to get out of all sorts of feelings dwelling inside me. Good, Bad. Get out of feelings intolerable. Even getting out of feeling enjoyable to me as a celebration.

I have used them all to shut-down the thoughts that those feelings have generated in me. And those things of entertainment have helped me. They’ve helped me get out of the dreaded zone. But always temporarily. Unwanted feelings haven’t stopped. In fact, feelings haven’t stopped. These…

--

--