Finding Balance Between Practical Life and Introspection

The struggle between practicality and introspection

Adesh Acharya

--

Practical life, a life that plays around necessities and formalities for surviving and living better, is introspectively stifling. Just a few days of necessities and formalities, and you lose your ability to dive deep into yourself and make subtle arrangements.

It’s like the practical life and the introspective life exist in two separate realms.

For the past ten days, I have been dealing with practical matters. I have finally moved out of my country in this period and since then all I seem to have been doing is hop around planes, trains, and buses. I barely remember doing anything else during that time! Even a simple stroll around a local pond became a practical matter, as I had to adjust my jacket to deal with the wind and plan my route back to the place I have been living in.

But today it is different. The weather is better, the wind has settled and so has my new-place anxiety. I am now able to walk around nearby, without having to navigate Google Maps.

Here I am, sitting in front of the same pond, writing this with the sun heating my back and the gentle wind keeping the balance and I have nothing practical to worry about (at least for now).

--

--